HKN Award

A scholastic honor society, Eta Kappa Nu has numerous award programs designed to promote and encourage educational excellence in electrical and computer engineering.

These awards recognize outstanding accomplishments by students, professors, and industry professionals who make significant contributions to society and who exemplify a balance of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Each award credits a specific segment of electrical and computer engineering and is presented at an appropriate venue. HKN encourages chapters and individuals to nominate all students and colleagues who deserve to be honored.

For a full list of IEEE Educational Activities Board awards, visit

View the 2013 IEEE-HKN Submission Calendar PDF.

Awards programs:
Nomination Deadlines


Nomination Deadline

* Extended Deadlines

Committee Chair

Outstanding Teaching Award 30 April Dave Soldan
John Orr
Outstanding Student Award 30 June* John DeGraw
Outstanding Chapter Award 15 October* Alan Lefkow
Outstanding Young Professional Award 31 May* Jon Bredeson
Karapetoff Award 31 May* Jim D'Arcy
Eminent Member Rolling Richard Gowen
Distinguished Service Award 31 May* Evelyn Hirt
Quick Links:

IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu
445 Hoes Lane
Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA

Phone: +1 732 465 5846
Phone: +1 800 406 2590 (US Toll Free)

Fax: +1 732 465 5808
Fax: +1 800 864 2051 (US Toll Free)